COP logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

COP Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows

TL;DR
  • Onshape has not published an official pass rate for the Certified Onshape Professional exam, so any specific percentage you see is unverified.
  • The published bar is 70% of 100 points across 60 questions, with a three-hour maximum.
  • Half the points come from ten hands-on modeling questions, so modeling speed matters as much as knowledge.
  • Onshape suggests roughly 75-100 hours of design, drafting and modeling experience before attempting the exam.

What the Data Actually Shows About COP Pass Rates

Candidates searching for a pass rate usually want one thing: a number that tells them whether to attempt the exam now or keep studying. For the Certified Onshape Professional credential, the honest answer is that the issuer has not published one. Onshape, a PTC business, describes the exam's structure, scoring threshold, fee and suggested experience level, but its public exam overview does not report how many candidates pass or fail.

That absence is itself the most important data point. It means every percentage you encounter on forums, marketplace listings or study-material sales pages comes from somewhere other than the issuer, and none of it can be traced to a verified dataset. This article does not invent a figure to fill that gap. Instead, it shows what the published exam design tells you about difficulty, how to interpret the signals that do exist, and how to judge your own readiness with evidence you can generate yourself.

If you want the broader picture of how demanding the exam is, the companion piece How Hard Is the COP Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026 covers the experience required and the skills tested in more depth. This article stays focused on the pass-rate question and what can legitimately be inferred.

Which Credential We Mean

The acronym COP is shared by several unrelated credentials in different industries. On this site, COP means the Certified Onshape Professional exam, administered through the Onshape Learning Center. The issuer also refers to it as the Onshape Certified Professional. It is the Professional-level examination, which is a different credential from the Certified Onshape Associate, and it has no connection to any outsourcing-industry or other credential that happens to use the same three letters.

This distinction matters for pass-rate research. If you search for "COP pass rate" generically, you may land on figures that belong to an entirely different certification. Any number that does not explicitly describe Onshape's Professional exam should be discarded. For a clean orientation on the name itself, see What Is COP Certification? and What Does COP Stand For?.

The Exam Format as Evidence: What 70% Really Demands

When no pass rate exists, the exam design becomes your best evidence. The published format is:

  • Total questions: 60
  • Modeling section: ten hands-on modeling questions worth 50 points
  • Knowledge section: 50 knowledge-based questions worth 50 points
  • Total points: 100
  • Time limit: a maximum of three hours
  • Passing score: 70%
  • Delivery: online through the Onshape Learning Center

Read that structure carefully. A 70% threshold on 100 points means you must accumulate 70 points. Because the two sections are weighted equally at 50 points each, you cannot rely on one half to carry the other indefinitely, though the published format does not state that a minimum score is required in each section separately. Treat that as an open question and prepare to be competent in both.

The Asymmetry Between Sections: Each modeling question is worth roughly five points, while each knowledge question is worth roughly one. A single botched modeling question costs about as much as five missed knowledge questions. That asymmetry is the single most useful structural fact for anyone estimating their own chances.

For a precise breakdown of how the threshold works, see COP Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass.

Why Onshape Does Not Publish a Pass Rate

Certification providers vary widely in what they disclose. Some publish annual pass statistics; many do not. Onshape's public exam overview, dated October 2021, focuses on what the exam covers, how it is scored and who should take it. It does not report outcomes. There is no published statement explaining why, and speculating about the reason would be guesswork.

Several practical reasons could make a pass rate hard to interpret even if one existed:

  • Self-selection: The exam is open to all Onshape subscribers, and candidates choose when to attempt it. A rate would reflect who chose to sit, not how hard the test is in the abstract.
  • Experience mix: Candidates range from people who have modeled in Onshape daily for years to those who have just finished a learning pathway.
  • Retakes: Because attempts are individually priced, an aggregate rate might blend first-time and repeat candidates.

These are interpretive caveats, not claims about Onshape's data. The takeaway is that even a published number would be a weaker predictor of your result than an honest read of your own practice performance.

What Shapes Difficulty Across the Five Topic Groups

Onshape's overview lists five exam-topic headings. It does not publish percentage weights for them, so you should not assume they carry equal importance. The 50/50 points split applies to the modeling and knowledge sections, not to these five headings. For a full walkthrough of how the topics are grouped, see COP Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 5 Content Areas.

Domain 1: Part modeling in an Onshape Part Studio

This is where hands-on skill is tested most directly. The Professional exam expects fluency well beyond basic extrudes.

  • Sketching with constraints and dimensions that behave predictably when edited
  • Feature creation and feature-tree management
  • Multi-part modeling inside a single Part Studio
  • Curves and surfaces, which are a common stumbling block for candidates who have mostly built prismatic parts

Domain 2: Assembling parts

Assembly questions test whether you can build and diagnose an assembly, not just place components.

  • Mate types, mate connectors and how they constrain degrees of freedom
  • Motion and mechanism behavior
  • In-context design, where one part's geometry references another

Domain 3: Data Management

This is the area that most distinguishes Onshape from file-based CAD, and candidates coming from desktop software often underestimate it.

  • Versions, branches and merging
  • Linked documents and how references update
  • Sharing and collaboration permissions
  • Importing and exporting data

Domain 4: Mobile

Smaller in scope, but it appears as a named topic group. Know what the Onshape mobile experience supports and how it relates to the desktop and browser workflow.

Domain 5: General Settings

Account and application-level settings and preferences. Easy to dismiss, but knowledge-section points here are among the cheapest to secure with a little deliberate review.

The practical implication for pass-rate thinking: the exam is not hard because any single topic is exotic. It is demanding because it combines timed hands-on modeling, version-control concepts and breadth across several areas in one sitting.

Readiness Signals That Beat Any Statistic

Instead of searching for a population-level pass rate, build your own evidence. The issuer's guidance points to approximately 75-100 hours of Onshape design, drafting and modeling experience. That is readiness guidance rather than a verified mandatory requirement, and the issuer does not state that a prior Associate certification is required. For eligibility details, see COP Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.

Use these self-checks:

  1. Modeling under a clock. Time yourself modeling realistic parts from a drawing. With ten modeling questions inside a three-hour window, you need a sustainable pace for each, leaving room for the 50 knowledge questions.
  2. Surface and curve comfort. If surfacing still feels like guesswork, that is a gap to close before attempting the exam.
  3. Branch-and-merge fluency. You should be able to explain, without looking it up, what happens to your work when you merge a branch back into the main workspace and how versions differ from branches.
  4. In-context confidence. You should be able to build a part referencing another part's geometry in an assembly and predict what breaks if the source changes.
  5. Consistent practice results. One good practice run can be luck. Repeated results comfortably above 70% are a stronger signal, which is why the COP Exam Prep practice tests are most useful when taken more than once.

Key Takeaway

Your personal readiness data, such as timed modeling runs and repeated practice scores above the 70% line, is far more predictive of your result than any aggregate pass rate quoted online.

Unverified Pass-Rate Claims: How to Read Them

The landscape around Onshape certification includes the official Learning Center, document-sharing marketplaces, comparison blogs, community threads and video content. These are useful for different purposes, but none of them establishes a verified pass rate for the Professional exam.

  • Marketplace question sets: These are user-uploaded materials. They may not reflect the current exam, and they may blend Associate and Professional content. Do not treat them as authoritative on exam facts.
  • Community threads: Forum posts can be valuable for candid experience reports, but a single person's account of passing or failing is anecdote, not data.
  • Video content: Helpful for visual walkthroughs, but verify any claim against the issuer's published exam overview before relying on it.
  • Comparison articles: If you are weighing Onshape against other CAD platforms, remember that each vendor's certification has its own scope. A comparison to the separate SOLIDWORKS Design Professional certification can help frame career choices, but it cannot supply Onshape's exam objectives or pass statistics.
A Simple Test for Any Claim: Ask where the number came from, who measured it, and whether it describes the Onshape Professional exam specifically. If you cannot answer all three, set it aside.

A COP-Specific Preparation Sequence

Generic study advice is less useful here than sequencing tied to the actual exam. Onshape's overview links instructor-led preparation, namely Onshape Bootcamp and Top-Down Design in Onshape, along with learning pathways including Onshape Fundamentals: CAD, Onshape Fundamentals: Data Management, Top-Down Design, and Advanced Part and Surfacing Design. These courses are optional. Note that the current lesson contents behind those pathways were not independently reviewed for this article, so confirm scope directly in the Learning Center before committing time.

Here is one way to order your effort so the heaviest-point activity, hands-on modeling, gets the most repetition:

Week 1

Part Studio fundamentals and gaps

  • Rebuild several parts from drawings and time yourself
  • Identify where sketch constraints or feature order slow you down
Week 2

Curves, surfaces and multi-part modeling

  • Work through advanced part and surfacing exercises
  • Practice creating several parts within one Part Studio
Week 3

Assemblies and in-context design

  • Build mechanisms with varied mate types and test motion
  • Create parts that reference other geometry, then edit the source
Week 4

Data management, mobile and settings

  • Practice versioning, branching and merging until the outcomes are predictable
  • Review linked documents, sharing, import/export, mobile capabilities and general settings
Week 5

Full-length simulation

  • Attempt a complete timed practice run covering both modeling and knowledge items
  • Revisit only the domains where you fell short

For a fuller plan with resources, see COP Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt. If you want a fast reference for last-minute review, the COP Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts condenses the essentials.

Fees, Attempts and the Cost of a Miss

The dated official article publishes a fee of $100 per attempt, with bulk discounts available by inquiry. This figure carries its October 2021 provenance and is not a retrieved 2026 checkout quote, so confirm the current price at registration. Because the fee is per attempt, a pass rate matters less than the practical question of whether you are ready now. A failed attempt costs money and time, and the published materials do not describe a retake policy in the sources reviewed here, so check the terms at checkout before assuming anything about waiting periods or discounts.

That per-attempt pricing is the strongest argument for using practice tests and timed modeling drills before you register. For the complete financial picture, including optional preparation courses, see COP Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.

On the other side of the ledger, the issuer states that the credential does not expire or require renewal. That makes a single successful attempt a durable asset rather than a recurring expense. Whether it translates into career value depends on your role and portfolio, and certification does not guarantee employment or a specific salary premium. For a grounded view, read Is the COP Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026 and COP Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis.

Comparing Evidence Quality: What You Can and Cannot Know

QuestionWhat the published sources supportWhat remains unknown
Is there an official pass rate?None found in the issuer's public overviewWhether Onshape tracks or shares one privately
What score passes?70% of 100 pointsWhether per-section minimums apply
How is the exam structured?Ten modeling questions (50 points) and 50 knowledge questions (50 points), 60 total, three-hour maximumExact question mix within each topic group
Are topic weights published?No percentage weights; five topic headings onlyRelative emphasis of each heading
What does an attempt cost?$100 per attempt per the October 2021 articleCurrent 2026 checkout price and retake terms
Is there a new 2026 exam version?The dated overview is the published baselineAny later revision to the exam

This table is the real answer to the "pass rate" question: you can know the structure, threshold and fee with reasonable confidence, but you cannot know the share of candidates who pass. Plan accordingly.

When you are ready to test yourself against the 70% bar, the COP Exam Prep practice test site offers a way to gauge your readiness before you commit a $100 attempt. Candidates curious about timing and scheduling can also review COP Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the Certified Onshape Professional pass rate?

Onshape has not published an official pass rate for the Professional exam in the public sources reviewed. Any specific percentage you encounter is unverified. The published passing score is 70% of 100 points, which is a threshold for individual candidates, not a statistic about how many people succeed.

What score do I need to pass the COP exam?

The published passing score is 70%. The exam has 60 questions worth 100 points: ten modeling questions worth 50 points and 50 knowledge-based questions worth 50 points. You have a maximum of three hours.

Is the COP exam hard?

It is demanding because it combines timed hands-on CAD modeling with knowledge questions across part modeling, assemblies, data management, mobile and general settings. Onshape suggests roughly 75-100 hours of design, drafting and modeling experience as readiness guidance. See the dedicated difficulty guide for more detail.

How much does it cost to take the exam?

The dated official article lists $100 per attempt, with bulk discounts by inquiry. That figure comes from an October 2021 source and is not a confirmed 2026 checkout quote, so verify the current price when you register.

Does the Certified Onshape Professional credential expire?

The issuer states that the credential does not expire or require renewal. That means a successful attempt is a one-time effort rather than a recurring renewal cost.

Ready to pass your COP exam?

Put this into practice with free COP questions across every exam domain.